Holidays in India

Republic Day – January 26

The day that India adopted the Constitution of the country is celebrated as Republic Day. On this day in 1950, India ceased to be part of the British Dominion. Instead, it was declared a democratic, socialist, secular Republic.

Maha Shivratri – During the Hindu month of Phalguna (the Tamil month of Panguni)

Maha Shivratri falls on the 14 night of the new moon in the Hindu month of Phalguna. On this night, devotees worship the Lord Shiva.

Holi – During the Hindu month of Phalguna (the Tamil month of Panguni)

Holi is the festival of colours. It is celebrated to welcome spring time. Holi is known as Dhuli Vandana in Sanskrit. In many parts of the country, the festival goes by the names Dhulheti, Dhulandi and Dhulendi.

Mahavir Jayanti – During the Hindu month of Chaitra (the Tamil month of Chithirai)

This festival is celebrated on the 13th day of the rising moon in the month of Chaitra. This is the day Mahavira, the last Tirthankara of Jainism was born in 599 BC or 615 BC, according to different sects in the religion.

Good Friday – In the month of April

Good Friday is observed by Christians around the world to commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus and his ensuing death at Calvary. Good Friday is also known as Holy Friday.

May Day – May 1

Labour Day is celebrated in India as May Day. This day commemorates the United States Labour Movement that took place on May 1, 1886.

Buddha Purnima – Full moon day in the month of May

Buddha Purnima, also known as Buddha Jayanti or Vesakha, celebrates the birth of Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism.

Independence Day – August 15

Independence Day is celebrated to commemorate Independence from the British Empire. India achieved Independence in 1947.

Krishna Janmastami – During the Hindu month of Bhadrapad (the Tamil month of Avani)

Krishna Janmashtami is celebrates the north of Lord Krishna on the 8th day of the waxing moon during the Hindu month of Bhadrapad. It is also known as Krishnashtami, Saatam Aatham, Gokulashtami, Ashtami Rohini, Srikrishna Jayanti, Sree Jayanthi or Janmashtami.

Id-Ul-Fitr – Around July every year, during the Islamic month of Shawwal

Eid Ul Fitr, also called Eid, marks the end of the holy month of Ramadan. It is when Muslims around the world break their fasting period.

Ganesh Chaturthi – During the Hindu month of Bhadrapad (the Tamil month of Avani)

Ganesh Chathurthi, or Vinayaka Chathurthi, is celebrated on the 4th day of the first fortnight of the Hindu month of Bhadrapad. It celebrates the birth of Lord Ganesha.

Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi – October 2

Gandhi Jayanti celebrates the birth of Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of our Nation. It is one of the three officially declared National Holidays of India.

Vijaya Dashami – During the Hindu month of Ashwin (the Tamil month of Aipasi)

Vijaya Dashami is celebrated on the 10th day of the rising moon during the Hindu month of Ashwin. It is the culmination of the festival of Navaratri. Other name for Vijaya Dashiki are Dasara, Dashahara, Navaratri, and Durgotsav.

Diwali – During the Hindu month of Kartika (the Tamil month of Karthigai)

Diwali, or Deepavali, is the Festival of Lights. It is celebrated to signify the victory of good over evil.

Guru Nanak Jayanthi – November

Guru Nanak Jayanti is celebrated to commemorate the birth day of the first Sikh Guru, Guru Nanak.

Christmas – December 25

Christmas is celebrated all over the world to commemorate the birth of Jesus Christ.

One Response to Holidays in India

  1. admin says:

    Many holidays missing!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *